I'm in Love::Style Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

(A not as late) Project Runway: S6: Ep4 Recap September 12, 2009

Filed under: Project Runway — eeamende @ 4:03 am

This week the models were the clients and the designers had to clothe them for a special industry event. Some designers found synergy with their models while others struggled to marry their aesthetic with the wants of their client. Let’s take a look:

Althea won this challenge with her three-piece “Le Smoking” design. I’m not impressed. It looks okay from the waist up, but I’m not a fan of the way-too-short paperbag skirt that gives the model a pooch stomach. Why exactly did this win?

Carol Hannah’s design was also in the top three and was my top pick. The draping, colors, and print were fabulous. The back swished just right as the model walked.

The judges praised Epperson’s innovative design: strips of fabric stretched and stitched across a simple silhouette. My only beef was the brown, but other than that: Kudos!

Christopher joked to Tim that his design looked like a salad…I agree. Maybe it’s commentary on the only thing that most models eat.

I’m in love with Gordana’s design and it was in my top three, however not the judges. That weaving effect down the front is perfection!

I like Irina’s design, but am I the only person who feels that it looks a little old? This is something you should wear in your 30s.

Louise made a classic LBD pop with a dramatic neckline.

Beam me up, Scotty! Nicolas’ design looks a little more “Star Trek Convention” than “Fashion Industry event”.

Love, Love, LOVE! Ra’Mon’s royal blue cocktail dress is perfect.

Shirin did a great job making a beautiful dress for a difficult model who’s fashion sense was questionable.

A judge commented that the most interesting thing about Johnny’s dress was the handbag. Heidi saw a bridesmaid dress. I could do without this bottom three look.

All the judges agreed that Logan’s 50s-inspired design was a little too “prom”. Is it so horrible that I kind of like it? Especially the ribbon wrapped around the bodice waist.

Qristyl went home this week. Heidi said that the look aged the model 10 or 15 years, which are dog years in model terms. The dress wasn’t appropriate for the event, but I liked its simplicity. It won’t make you stand out in a crowd though…

 

2 Responses to “(A not as late) Project Runway: S6: Ep4 Recap”

  1. James Says:

    Hey, great blog! I bookmarked it, ’cause I enjoy comparing faves and least faves (Carol Hannah totes deserved to win this week–and either she or Althea better win the whole damn competition!).

    P.S. You called Johnny’s bridesmaid dress Christopher’s, FYI. Just so no one else is confused which one is actually his and all ;).

  2. eeamende Says:

    Thank you very much for the compliment! I’ll fix the comment under Johnny’s dress.


Leave a Reply

